National, Official, and Non-working Holidays Philippines 2018

In general, providing a fixed list of holiday dates is difficult because most of the 2017 regular holidays and nationwide special holidays in the Philippines are movable, as provided under Republic Act 9492 (an Act rationalizing the celebration of national holidays). For these movable holidays, the President is tasked by law to issue a Proclamation, at least 6 months prior to a movable holiday, fixing the specific date of that non-working day.

National Regular Holidays List for 2018 – Philippines

New Year’s Day  –  January 1, 2018 (Monday)
Maundy Thursday – March 29, 2018 (Thursday)
Good Friday – March 30, 2018 (Friday)
Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9, 2018 (Monday)
Labor Day – May 1, 2018 (Tuesday)
Independence Day – June 12, 2018 (Tuesday)
Eid’l Fitr – To be Announced
National Heroes Day – August 27, 2018 (Last Monday of August)
Eidul Adha – To be Announced
Bonifacio Day – November 30, 2018 (Friday)
Christmas Day – December 25, 2018 (Tuesday)
Rizal Day – December 30, 2018 (Sunday)

National Regular Holidays Compensation – Philippines

a. If it is an employee’s regular workday

  • If unworked – 100%
  • If worked – 1st 8 hours – 200%
  • Excess of 8 hours – plus 30% of hourly rate on said day

b. If it is an employee rest day

  • If unworked – 100%
  • If worked – 1st 8 hours – plus 30% of 200%
  • Excess of 8 hours – plus 30% of hourly rate on said day

Nationwide Special (Non-Working) Holidays List – Philippines

Additional special (non-working day) – January 2, 2018 (Tuesday)
Chinese New Year – February 16, 2018 (Friday)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary  – February 25, 2018 (Sunday)
Black Saturday – March 31, 2018 (Saturday)
Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21, 2018 (Tuesday)
All Saint’s Day – November 1, 2018 (Thursday)

Last Day of the Year – December 31, 2018 (Monday)

Additional Special (Non-Working) days – Philippines

All Soul’s Day – November 2, 2018 (Friday)
Christmas Eve – December 24, 2018 (Monday)

Special Days – Philippines

For declared special days such as Special Non-working Day, Special Public Holiday, Special National Holiday, in addition to the two nationwide special days (November 1, All Saints Day and December 31, Last Day of the Year), the following rules shall apply:

a.  If unworked

  • No pay, unless there is a favorable company policy, practice, or collective bargaining agreement (CBA) granting payment of wages on special days even if unworked.

b. If worked

  • 1st 8 hours – plus 30% of the daily rate of 100%
  • excess of 8 hours – plus 30% of hourly rate on said day

c. Falling on the employee’s rest day and if worked

  • 1st 8 hours – plus 50% of the daily rate of 100%
  • excess of 8 hours – plus 30% of hourly rate on said day

Special Working Holidays – Philippines

For work performed, an employee in the Philippines is entitled only to his basic rate. No premium pay is required since work performed on said days is considered work on ordinary working days.

Computation of Holiday Pay in the Philippines – Infographic

Stay on top of amendments and updates on Philippine labor laws and regulations

We have unparalleled expertise in providing transparent advice to our clients on how to properly align their benefits and compensation packages with mandatory employee benefits imposed by Philippine labor laws.